Uploaded November 2015 | Updated September 2026, 1 week ago
*Yes, there was a small editing mishap at 2:35. No, I'm not inclined to fix it.*
Love it or hate it, Google+ has been a requirement on YouTube for almost the past two years. After the first signs of Google+ integration coming to YouTube, a large backlash ensued, primarily from those who saw no use in having an unwanted and unneeded extra "social media" account, just to use YouTube! In fact, anyone who wished to create a new Gmail account was coaxed into creating a Google+ account--whether or not they actually needed it!
As time progressed, popups, reminders, and other "nag screens" began displaying themselves to users who wished to continue using YouTue without the addition of Google+. Eventually, probably seeing as how many people were probably just ignoring the messages, Google began requiring the linking of a Google+ account to allow one to upload and comment on videos (among other things). Short of watching videos, the whole of a YouTube account was essentially rendered inaccessible if a Google+ account wasn't linked to your YouTube channel.
Recently, Google has been back-stepping on its plans for the integration of Google+ in all of its offerings and services. A fairly recent blog post mentioned YouTube's decision to cease aggregating YouTube comments to your Google+ page. They also mentioned their intending to remove the requirement of a Google+ account just to use YouTube; all of those which wished not to have a Google+ account would be able to delete it, without any ill-effects to their channel.
One thing I must make abundantly clear: deleting your Google+ profile will will cause your channel to revert to using its original name! This may very well pose a problem for channels whose display names have been changed to something else using Google+.
It'll be interesting to see how this change is further rolled-out in time, as attempting to sign up for a new YouTube account and channel still requires Google+ (but said Google+ account can be subsequently deleted after the initial sign-up process)!
Yes, there was a small editing mishap at 2:35. No, I'm not inclined to fix it.
*Yes, there was a small editing mishap at 2:35. No, I'm not inclined to fix it.*
Love it or hate it, Google+ has been a requirement on YouTube for almost the past two years. After the first signs of Google+ integration coming to YouTube, a large backlash ensued, primarily from those who saw no use in having an unwanted and unneeded extra "social media" account, just to use YouTube! In fact, anyone who wished to create a new Gmail account was coaxed into creating a Google+ account--whether or not they actually needed it!
As time progressed, popups, reminders, and other "nag screens" began displaying themselves to users who wished to continue using YouTue without the addition of Google+. Eventually, probably seeing as how many people were probably just ignoring the messages, Google began requiring the linking of a Google+ account to allow one to upload and comment on videos (among other things). Short of watching videos, the whole of a YouTube account was essentially rendered inaccessible if a Google+ account wasn't linked to your YouTube channel.
Recently, Google has been back-stepping on its plans for the integration of Google+ in all of its offerings and services. A fairly recent blog post mentioned YouTube's decision to cease aggregating YouTube comments to your Google+ page. They also mentioned their intending to remove the requirement of a Google+ account just to use YouTube; all of those which wished not to have a Google+ account would be able to delete it, without any ill-effects to their channel.
One thing I must make abundantly clear: deleting your Google+ profile will will cause your channel to revert to using its original name! This may very well pose a problem for channels whose display names have been changed to something else using Google+.
It'll be interesting to see how this change is further rolled-out in time, as attempting to sign up for a new YouTube account and channel still requires Google+ (but said Google+ account can be subsequently deleted after the initial sign-up process)!
Yes, there was a small editing mishap at 2:35. No, I'm not inclined to fix it.










