PS4 Primary System Deactivation @playstationsupport
PS4 Primary System Deactivation  @playstationsupport
Uploaded December 2019 | Updated September 2026, 1 week ago
How Can I Deactivate My PS4 Primary System?

Learn how to deactivate the primary PS4 system for your account. Deactivation is recommended before selling a system, sending it in for service, or giving it to a new owner. Deactivation may be necessary before you can activate another PS4 system as the primary for your account. This video was updated with new website directions in December, 2019.

Sign in on playstation.com/account to manage the devices that are activated for your account. There is an option to deactivate all devices for your account, but it can only be used once every six months. Check this article for updated instructions for deactivating all devices for your account: playstation.com/support/account/deactivate-playstation-console

Watch this video to learn about primary system activation: youtube.com/watch?v=UfBdDhAC50E
PS4 Primary System DeactivationChange Your Online ID on PlayStationHow to set up a passkey on your accountPS5 - Recommended SettingsHow do I set up 2-Step Verification on my account?Troubleshooting a downloaded PS4 gameRedeeming Codes on PS4Customizing Your Access ControllerExploring PS5 - Game Base: Stay In The GamePlayStation Plus Subscription ManagementReinstalling System Software on a PS5 consoleGet Free PS4 Games as a PS Plus Member
PlayStation Support |

PS4 Primary System Deactivation

SHARE TO X SHARE TO REDDIT SHARE TO FACEBOOK WALLPAPER